Diary of an Accidental Witch: 1

£3.495
FREE Shipping

Diary of an Accidental Witch: 1

Diary of an Accidental Witch: 1

RRP: £6.99
Price: £3.495
£3.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Diary of an Accidental Witch is well written, with a good flow to the story allowing children to feel completely immersed in the story. It is a good story for developing readers, as the layout and style helps newly independent readers to feel comfortable. Bea is a likeable character who children will be able to resonate with as she joins a new school and has to overcome her worries. It's a good conversation opener to how children might feel at school, as well as how we can find solutions to the problems they may have. The winners of The Farshore Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards 2023, highlighting the work schools are doing to encourage a love of reading, have... I really enjoyed this book and am trying to figure out how I can enrol myself in this school. Beside the whole witch thing and the opportunity to perfect spells, I’m always in favour of having legitimate excuses to wear a cape. I loved the way that Bea struggles so much to fit in, and everything at the witch school is so strange and weird to her. We all feel like that sometimes. She also feels really inadequate with her school work because she can't do magic. But I loved how her teachers encourage her and she begins to discover that she does have certain skills.

Bea is absolutely convinced that she definitely does not belong at witch school but with the Halloween Ball getting ever closer, showing just the slightest bit of magical spark would be really useful. Will Bea be able to find her inner witch or is she just a perfect toadbrain… Bea is an incredibly likeable young girl who is coping with some of the usual worries about settling in to secondary school like whether she will fit in or make friends which is sure to offer support to young readers feeling the same whether they are going to another school or starting in a new class. Bea also shows a great deal of resilience as she works hard to practice her witch skills, sometimes with unexpected consequences. This will surely be a hit in your library and it is a great start to a promising book series. I would recommend this for children aged 7 and up. It would make a great bedtime story! All in all, give me the second book! I need more! Honor and Perdita have done it again and I cannot wait to read the rest. Alongside this, I love the interaction between Bea and the other characters - both nice and naughty! She has to navigate friendships and there are many interesting dynamics among the pupils. Again, these reflect how some children may feel themselves and enable conversation to happen within a safe classroom environment.I loved the diary-entry style of this story which will appeal to lots of young readers with its use of bold and capital letters, crossing outs, lists and footnotes. The illustrations are absolutely gorgeous and complement the humour and charm of this story perfectly. The illustrations in this book were just a pure delight! They were cute and fun and I loved how the characters were drawn.

Armistice Day: A Collection of Remembrance - Spark Interest and Educate Children about Historical Moments Hubble, bubble and a cauldron lot of light-hearted and laugh-out-loud trouble. Perfect for fans of Amelia Fang and Witch Wars. I absolutely LOVED that this book was written as a diary, it just made it all even more fun and made me connect with Bea more. Hello Yellow - 80 Books to Help Children Nurture Good Mental Health and Support With Anxiety and Wellbeing - I did feel a bit for the dad, because Bea just couldn’t say anything about her days at school. Hello, witch = secret. But dad thought she was just acting out. Oh if only he knew. I would have loved dad to take a bit better care of his daughter as now she was thinking of learning to cook and do other things.

This first book in the series felt incomplete because it just ends with nothing resolved. The story arc suddenly stops at the top of the arc with all these loose ends hanging off. It's very awkward. All the open questions about Bea, her rivalries with classmates, and upcoming events that are hinted at in the first book are all resolved in the second book. It would make a lot more sense to have the first and second books of the series published as one book. I don't know what editor decided to cut this story in half, but it was a poor decision. Author Guy Bass introduces SCRAP, about one robot who tried to protect the humans on his planet against an army of robots. Now the humans need his... Step aside Hogwarts, there’s a new magical school in town and I definitely want to attend…where can I enrol? Now, that’s a big statement from someone who is obsessed with everything HP. Diary of an Accidental Witch is the first in a four book series of magical mis-adventures from mother and daughter, Honor and Perdita Cargill, starring an ordinary girl (at least she thinks she is ordinary) who finds herself living and learning in a town that is far from normal. If this first diary is a sign of things to come then the Cargill’s have the perfect concoction of story-writing ingredients for a series that will become a firm favourite with young readers. Night Mayor Franklefink has vanished from the Transylvanian Express - and it's up to you to solve the case! Part of the Solve Your Own Mystery seri...

I loved seeing Bea make friends. She already had one, a guy from next door who I liked but at other times found a bit judgmental, but with Witch School she makes more.

Open Library

Diary of an Accidental Witch is a gorgeously charming, magical adventure that sparkles with humour, warmth and friendship that completely captivated me.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop